JA Orisite - шаблон joomla Joomla

City of Clarkston - Georgia - where possibilities grow


where possibilities grow

Special Session Meeting July 19, 2017

Wednesday, July 19, 2017
Officials Present
Mayor: Ted Terry
Council: Dean Moore, Awet Eyasu, Ahmed Hassan, Beverly Burks, Jamie Carroll
City Manager: Keith Barker 
City Clerk: Tracy Ashby 
Mayor Terry called the meeting to order at 7:00pm.
Roll Call: Dean Moore, Awet Eyasu, Ahmed Hassan, Beverly Burks
1) Vote to override the Mayors Veto of the Charter Review Committee Appointments
Mayor Terry read the veto statement.
Jamie Carroll arrived.
Awet Eyasu stated this meeting was called as at the July 6 Council Meeting the council unanimously appointed the Charter Review Committee members from the applications that had been received within the posted timeframe with the intention of appointing the fifth member at the next meeting.
Ahmed Hassan stated that at the July meeting the two later applicants were not present for the council to discuss their application.
Mayor Terry recognized Petra Ehlert who applied after the deadline and he reported YT Bell had withdrawn her application from consideration. Mayor Terry stated his recommendation was to appoint the standing applicant. 
Dean Moore gave a point of order that the special call meeting was to override the veto and he requested the Mayor entertain a vote.
Mayor Terry opened the meeting for public comments.
John Beck stated it was not the job of the Mayor or council to agree on every item and if the Mayor feels he needs to veto, that’s his job. 
Petra Ehlert stated she downloaded the application of June 9 and was not aware of a deadline. She voiced a concern on split votes and disagreement among the council.
A resident questioned when the council would appoint the final member of the committee.
Warren Hadlock stated he was aware of the application deadline and submitted his application prior to the final date. Expressed he was eager to begin the Charter review process and that he hoped those selected for committee and potential final members were already reviewing the information. He encouraged the other applicants to reach out him to discuss to stay engaged in the process. 
Dean Moore stated the committee was created to make recommendations only to the council, so a concern of a split vote would not be applicable. The meetings will open be public and he encouraged all residents to attend and be involved. 
Awet Eyasu thanked Ms. Ehlert for her willingness to volunteer for the committee. He clarified that the Council had stated at the July meeting that they would select the last member of the review committee at the August council meeting.  He further addressed that the Council had set November as the firm deadline for the committee to submit recommendation on the Charter and that was driving the initiative to get the Charter Review committee appointments set. Council wants to insure the committee has time to meet sufficiently and make recommendations. 
Beverly Burks expressed concern that if we are opening to look at the received applicants, then perhaps the council should re-open the process for others that may have wanted to be considered but who had missed the deadline. 
Jamie Carroll reasserted that the Council would select the last member at the August meeting which is only two weeks away at this point. 
Awet Eyasu made a motion for the Council to override the Mayor’s veto of the Charter Review Committee appointments. Dean Moore seconded the motion.
Mayor Terry asked the Council to address concerns that the committee would hold meetings before the final member is selected. Dean Moore stated that any Charter Review committee meetings held would be open for the public to attend. 
Jamie Carroll addressed the concern on the tie vote and confirmed that there would not be any votes taken until October or November. 
A vote was called and the motion carried (5, 0).
Dean Moore made a motion to adjourn the meeting.  Awet Eyasu seconded the motion.  A vote was called and the motion carried (5, 0). 
Meeting adjourned.
You are here: Government Council Minutes Special Session Meeting July 19, 2017