JA Orisite - шаблон joomla Joomla

City of Clarkston - Georgia - where possibilities grow


where possibilities grow

Election Information & Candidate Qualifying

The Next General Clarkston Election will be November 7, 2017 

General Election Information 
City of Clarkston Government: 
The City of Clarkston government consists of a Mayor and six Council Members. The term of office is four years. The elections are staggered every two years. City elections are non-partisan, i.e., candidates do not run as members of a particular political party, and their individual party affiliations are not relevant to their positions in City of Clarkston Government. 
City of Clarkston Elected Officials
Mayor:  Ted Terry (Elected Nov 2013) 
Council Member/Vice-Mayor:Dean Moore (2013) 
Council Member: Ahmed Hassan (2013)
Council Member: James Carroll  (2013)  Unopposed Qualified candidate (Certified Elected 1-24-17)
Council Member: Beverly Burks( Elected 2015) 
Council Member: Awet Eyasu (Elected 2015) 
Council Member: Mario Williams (Elected 2015) 
City Council meetings
The Mayor and Council Members attend Council meetings that take place the first Tuesday of the month, barring a holiday, in the City Council Chambers, which are in 3921 Church Street, Clarkston, GA 30021. The Council Work Session  is held 5:00-6:30PM.  The Regualr Council Meeting start at 7:30PM, unless otherwise posted. 
Election of the Mayor and City Council Members 
The City of Clarkston’s Municipal elections are held every two years in odd numbered years, currently at the Clarkston First Baptist Church, 3895 Church Street, Clarkston, GA 30021. The Mayor and Council members are elected to serve a four year term of office and serve Clarkston at large (the entire city); however, they must live in the city limits of the City of Clarkston.
2017 Candidate Information
General Election November 7, 2017 for the Mayor seat and three (3) Council Seats.
The City of Clarkston election type for Mayor is by majority vote, with the candidate needing 50% plus one vote to win. The election type for Council Members is plurality with the candidates for council members receiving the greatest, second greatest, and third greatest number of votes cast for council members shall be elected. You must declare the office you are running for when you qualify as a candidate. The qualifyin period will be set by the Council in June of 2017.  The period will fall from August 21 to August 25, 2017, 9:00a - 4:30P each day.  The Council may set the Qualifying period for a minimum of three days (Aug 21 - Aug 23) or for the maxmimum 5 days (Aug 21 - August 25, 2017).
The qualifying fee for a Council seat is currently $105.00 (one hundred five dollars) and for Mayor is $195.00 (one hundred ninety-five dollars), which is 3% of the total gross salary of the preceding year (Georgia Election Code 21-2-131).
The qualifications to run for office include: candidate must be 18 years old, a citizen of the United States,  a bona fide resident of the City of Clarkston for a continuous period of at least 12 months immediately prior to the date of the election; must have no debts outstanding against them in favor of the city, county or state. Candidate must continue to reside in the City of Clarkston during their period of service; candidate must be registered and qualified to vote in the municipal elections for the City of Clarkston and continue this qualification throughout their term of office.
Candidates elected to office in the November election take office in the month of January of the following year. They will be sworn in at the first Council meeting of the year.
For questions or for more information please contact Tracy Ashby, City Clerk, at 404-296-6489 or email tashby@cityofclarkston.com
Mandatory Newly Elected Officials Training
State law (36-45-1-9) requires that all candidates elected must attend the Newly Elected Officials Institute offered through GMA and the University of Georgia. 
Campaign Finance and Required Filings/Reports
If you are planning to run for office and accept campaign funds contact the Georgia Government Transparency and Campaign Finance Commission, as there are forms to fill out before campaign funds are accepted. There are also Campaign Disclosure reports to fill out. These reports are required by the Ethics in Government Act of the State of Georgia. Visit their website for important candidate requirements and information.
Brief Overview of Candidate Filing Responsibilities
Declaration of Intent to Accept Campaign Contributions (DOI) – Mandatory, candidate must file DOI before collecting campaign contributions
PIN application (CCDR and PFDS) –necessary for E-filing CCDRs and PFDS, should be filed as early as possible to ensure all CCDRs and PFDS can be filed online
Registration of Campaign Committee (RC) Optional, only if candidate wants a campaign committee 
Choosing the Option of Separate Accounting (COOSA) Optional, only if candidate wants to collect contributions for more than one campaign at a time
CAMPAIGN RECORD KEEPING – mandatory, candidate or campaign committee must keep records of all contributions and expenditures
Campaign Contribution Disclosure Reports (CCDR) – mandatory, must be filed according to appropriate schedule (see election year, non-election year schedule
Two Business Day report of Contributions Received – (TBD)  mandatory, if candidate receives contributions of $1000.00 or more between date of last CCDR and the date of the election, must report within two days of receipt.
Personal Financial Disclosure Statement (PFDS) – mandatory, must be filed shortly after qualifying as a candidate (within 15 days after qualifying for most candidates, within 7 days after qualifying for candidates for statewide office)
Important Links:
Order Voter Registration Lists and Files
Georgia Election Code
E-Filing of  Candidate Forms/ Reports
Campaign Finance Act
Filing Responsibilities for Candidates & Candidate Committees
You are here: Residents Election Information