About the City Council

 

The City of Clarkston functions under the council-manager form of government. This system of local government combines the strong political leadership of elected officials in the form of a council, with the strong managerial experience of an appointed local government manager.

 

The Clarkston city council serves primarily as a legislative body; its members are the community’s decision makers. They serve as the leaders and policy makers elected to represent the community and to concentrate on policy issues that are responsive to citizens’ needs and wishes. Members of the elected council are responsible for approving the budget and determining the tax rates. The council also focuses on the community’s goals, major projects, and such long-term considerations as community growth, land use development, capital improvement plans, capital financing, and strategic planning.

 

The council hires a professional manager to carry out the administrative responsibilities of the City and supervises the manager’s performance.

 

 

YT

Yterenickia "YT" Bell

Year Elected : 2017

Contact : YTBell@cityofclarkston.com

Jamie

Jamie Carroll

Year Elected : 2017

Contact : jcarroll@cityofclarkston.com

Andrea

Andrea Cervone

Year Elected : 2017

Contact : andrea@cityofclarkston.com

Awet

Awet Eyasu

Year Elected : 2015

Contact : aeyasu@cityofclarkston.com

Ahmed

Ahmed Hassan

Year Elected : 2013

Contact : ahassan@cityofclarkston.com

Mario Williams

Mario Williams

Year Elected : 2015

Contact : mwilliams@cityofclarkston.com